General - Different cultures have different. Modes of reckoning time, some of which are based on religious or mythological concepts. Time was reckoned in twentyday periods known as cempohualli, each divided into four five-day periods. Four years were regarded as a year of the sun, and thirteen years as a bundle (xiumalpilli). Four xiumalpilli made up a nexiuhilpilitztli. At the end of each cycle of fifty-two years, the world was expected to end and there was great rejoicing when the cycle passed and the prophesied doom failed to materialise. -Hindu The world has gone through four ages of varying lengths which, together with dawn and twilight periods, total 12,000 years. Each of these divine years equals 360 earthly years giving 4,320,000 for a complete cycle, the mahayuga. Yet 2,000 mahayugars are but one night and day of Brahma, a period, known as a kalpa, which equals 8,640,000 earthly years. One hundred kalpas equal a para which is the life of the universe and the universe is created anew by Brahma at the end of each such period. A fourteenth part of a kalpa is known as a manvantana. -Mayan The solar year, the haab, had 365 days made up of twenty eighteenday periods plus five intercalary days. The cycle of twenty periods was a tun and increments of this basic unit, multiplied successively by twenty, yielded the katun (c. twenty years), the baktun (c. 400 years), the pictun (c. 8,000 years), the calabtun (c. 160,000 years), the kinchiltun (c. 3,200,000 years) and the alautun (c. 64,000,000 years). Another period, the tzolkin, had twenty thirteen-day periods, the month had twenty days and the day had twenty hours. In some lore, occasionally identified as time, haab, haab, yuga, yuga, dvapara, kali-yuga, krita-yuga, Tretayuga, yug, also day or also day.

Nearby Myths