Seven Rishis, The

Hindu - Wise men, created from the brain of Brahma. They are listed as Atri, Bharadwaja, Gotama, Jamad-agni, Kashyapa, Vashishtha and Vishwamitra. Vishnu, in his sixth avatar as Parasurama, delivered the world into their hands and they now appear in the sky as the seven stars of the Plough constellation. Another list gives Agastya, Angiras, Atri, Bhrigu, Kashyapa, Vashishtha and Vishvamitra while another lists Angiras, Brighu, Daksha, Kashyapa, Narada, Vashishtha and Vishvamitra. Yet another list gives ten, omitting Vishvamitra and adding Atri, Kratu, Pulaha and Pulastya. Some accounts list fourteen: Angiras, Atri, Bharadwaja, Brighu, Daksha, Gorama, Jamad-agni, Kashyapa, Kratu, Marichi, Pulaha, Pulastra, Vashishtha and Vishvamitra. These personages are often referred to as the Prajapati. On occassion, called Seven Rishis, The, Manasa Putra, Manasa Putra, Seven Rishis, Manasaputra, Manasaputra, Prajapati, Prajapati, Angiras, Brahma, Brighu, Daksha, Hiranya-garbha, Indra, Kashyapa, Lord of Creation, Lord of Creatures, Lord of Progeny, Manu, Matsya, Narada, Pitri, Pulashtya, Savitri, Soma, Tvashtri, Vashishtha, Vishvamitra, Seven Brahma Rishis, Seven Brahma Rishis, Seven Sages, Seven Sages, Apkallu, Seven Seers, Seven Seers, Saptarshi, Saptarshi, rishi, rishi, maharishi, mahatma, risi, rshi, rsi, r(i)si, femrishika or Nine Brahmarishis.

Nearby Myths